Organization & Management

Board of Governors

All the powers of the Fund are vested in the Board of Governors, which may delegate to the Board of Directors all its powers, except certain specified powers that have been reserved exclusively to the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is composed of a Governor and an Alternate Governor appointed by each member state. It holds an annual meeting and such other meetings as it may determine or as may be called by the Board of Directors.

As at 31 December 2020, the makeup of the Board of Governors was as follows:

Member Countries, Governors and Alternate Governor

Member States (1)

Governors (2)

Alternate Governors (2)

The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan H.E. Mr. Nasser Shraideh H.E. Ms. Zeina Toukan
The Republic of Tunisia H.E. Mr. Ali Al-Kali -
The Algerian Democratic and People's Republic H.E. Mr. Ayman bin Abdul Rahman -
The Republic of the Sudan H.E. Dr. Hiba Mohamed Ali -
The Republic of Iraq H.E. Mr. Ali Abdul-Amir Allawi H.E. Ms. Berin Abdul Salam Qasim
The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia H.E. Mr. Mohammed Bin Abdullah
Al Jadaan
H.E Dr. Ahmed Bin Abdulkarim Al Kholifey
The Syrian Arab Republic* - -
State of Libya H.E. Mr. Faraj Abdullrahman Faraj Bomtari -
The Arab Republic of Egypt H.E. Dr. Rania Al Mashat H.E. Dr. Hala El Said
The Republic of Yemen H.E. Dr. Waed Abdullah Abdulrazzaq Badhib H.E. Dr. Mohamed Ahmed Ali Al-Hawri
The State of Kuwait H.E. Mr. Khalifa Musaed Khalaf Hamada H.E. Mr. Abdulwahab Al-Bader
The Republic of Lebanon H.E. Mr. Nabil Adnan Al-Jisr -
The Kingdom of Morocco H.E. Mr. Mohamed Bencha‚boun H.E. Mr. Zouhair Chorfi
The State of the United Arab Emirates H.E. Mr. Obaid Humaid Al-Tayer -
The Kingdom of Bahrain H.E. Sheikh Salman Bin Khalifa Al-Khalifa H.E. Mr. Yousif Abdulla Humood
The State of Qatar H.E. Mr. Ali Shareef Al Emadi -
The Somali Democratic Republic** - -
The Islamic Republic of Mauritania H.E. Mr. Ousmane Mamoudou Kane H.E. Mr. Mohamed Salem Ould Al Nani
Sultanate of Oman H.E. Mr. Sultan bin Salem bin Saeed Al-Habsi -
Palestine H.E. Dr. Nabil Qaddoumi H.E. Mr. Bassam Walweel
The Republic of Djibouti H.E. Mr. Ilyas Moussa Dawaleh -
The Union of the Comoros H.E. Mr. Said Ali Said Chayhane -

(1) States are listed in the order in which their names appear in the list of signatories to the Agreement Establishing the Fund, and according to the date of adhesion to the Agreement.

(2) Names of Governors and Alternate Governors are given as at 31/12/2020.

* Membership suspended by request from the League of Arab States.

** Membership suspended pursuant to the Board of Governorsí Resolution No. 3 of 1993, which has been extended annually by subsequent resolutions of the Board of Governors until 2020.

Copyright © 2008-2020 AFESD All Rights Reserved.